Day 14

9 Jun

Cash Bar was delivered to Gardner today. Gardner’s friend Chase, obviously unaware of how much Cash weighed, had agreed to help move the bar up a rather long flight of steps. After the move was completed, both guys looked a little the worse for wear. But, Cash Bar was delivered and sits proudly with other Johnny Cash accoutrements.

With Gardner as our guide, we made it to the Pacific Ocean. We went to a pier south of Venice.Gardner was unwilling to pay twenty dollars to park at Venice Beach. He wound up with a great deal, paying only fifteen dollars where we did park. The weather was chilly, but people were everywhere, wearing skimpy attire. I, of course, was mainly interested in the surfers and bird life.

Next we went to the museum of Jurassic Technology. I felt as if I was in the middle of a Borges short story. We couldn’t take photos, so I can’t really show and tell. Many of the exhibits did not make sense or may not have been real. It was a real Borgesian experience.

We finished this tour with a drive into the Hollywood Hills and looked down on the city. LA is an enormous, amazing place. I’m glad I don’t live there.

On our way back to Gardner’s apartment, we became involved in the preparations for Sunday’s Gay Pride Parade. I was in the back and could not hear Gardner and Lee in the front seat. I did not know what was going on. I thought the traffic and the crowds were just typical Saturday night in Hollywood.

I also noticed that businesses in LA are rather blatant in their advertising. I saw a truck that offered a full body massage delivered to your door. I did not get a picture of the truck but did get a storefront that offered a similar service. I also got a shot out the window of a marijuana dispensary. But, most amazing of all was the open advertisement by prostitutes, though I think these may have been from the South.

It was great to see Gardner and to tour LA. I’ll be happy to leave the traffic behind. Tomorrow we head for Arizona.
(We are trying a new way of organizing the pictures.)

One Response to “Day 14”

  1. Jane June 12, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Lee and Bob, Ed and I have been gone for about a week and have had a wonderful time catching up with you on your travels. Once upon a time, we spent a night down in Zion–dark as pitch. We were filled with awe at the idea of Native Americans there with no flashlights. Roy Rogers was my very favorite cowboy! Our son Ted would love the Cash Bar. He always sings at the annual Johnny Cash tribute in L5P. And the cannabis establishments somehow reminded me of Willie Nelson’s “Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I’m Gone” (or “. . . When I Die”?) Anyhow, a really good song. Travel safely! Jane

Leave a Reply

