Frances

23 May

             Lee, Proctor and I went to see my cousin Frances today.  While she is frail of body, she is still strong of mind.  As Proctor said, “She was right pert today.”  Frances was 36 when I was born, and I have been going to see her all of my life. 

            She lives in a house that was built in 1848. Her grandfather, my great grandfather was in the Army of Northern Virginia in the Civil War.  He named Frances’s dad, my Uncle Bob, Robert Lee Linn.   Frances still remembers listening to her grandfather tell war stories.

            Today we talked about the trip, caught up on other family members and reminisced about earlier times.  I promised to send Frances postcards from the road.

Leave a Reply

